I meant to put up a post sooner after the event, but I think I had to let my thoughts settle a bit. I had the awesome opportunity to go to UMD's Midnight Madness event with my brother Friday night and we had a great time. Here are my completely random thoughts about the experience.
1. For those of you who don't know, the whole midnight madness phenomena was started at Maryland by Lefty Dreisell 40 years ago.
2. Why didn't someone tell me Gymkana was competing on America's Got Talent? I would have watched and voted. From what I saw of the clip shown, they looked beautiful and amazing! Congrats to them.
3. Apparently, just like all-star games, defense is not required for these alumni games.
4. I believe Lynetta Kizer (women's team) has developed into a seriously well-rounded player from the time she started here. In my admittedly amateur viewpoint (and judging only from a scrimmage), she looks scary-good.
5. That Alex Len kid is insanely tall. I hope he makes it through waivers.
6. I reserve judgement on the men's team until I can see them actually play.
And finally, what actually struck me most is how much players don't change. They are who they are, I guess. Although given that that there was no defense, perhaps it's foolish of me to judge. Still, Vasquez still chucks up shots like there's no tomorrow, Byron Mouton still has a motor that never quits, Chris Wilcox is still extremely gifted athletically (but perhaps lacking in focus) and Steve Blake still distributes the ball before looking for his own shot. I wish Juan Dixon hadn't missed his plane. It was awesome seeing them all again especially Blake (probably my favorite Terp ever) and GV, who almost gave us a shimmy.
No comments:
Post a Comment