Thursday, December 15, 2005

Movies based on...

Two books and a musical

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

What can I say? Awesome!!

Yeah, they had to cut a lot of the book, but I always thought the book was little loose (don't get me wrong, I loved the book, but compared to Azkaban? It was just not as tight.) The movie, though, tension, excitement, dragons, a duel with Voldemort! and Ray Fiennes! I can't even begin...he's so...evil!

I'm going to see it again at an IMAX theater soon, so after that I hope to have a more balanced review (i.e. less raving and more thought).

Rent

First off, I have to say that I've never been one of those HUGE Rent fans. I have seen it (in Baltimore) and I did like it, but I've never obsessively listen to the soundtrack like I do for say... Wicked. That said, I support all movie-musicals and enjoyed Moulin Rouge (even though it wasn't really a musical), Chicago and Phantom of the Opera.

As for this movie, I thought it was great. There were some music that was cut, but (like in Phantom) it was mostly things that if the genre the composer was working in wasn't totally sung, it would have been dialogue anyway and in the movie is therefore spoken. An example is those annoying phone messages from parents. What has been added are mostly images that form memories that couldn't have been portrayed in the stage musical. I feel they add more depth to the characters.

The music is, of course, awesome. I highly recommend.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

These books (although not this one specifically, I like the later ones better) were hands down my favorites as a pre-teen. I had high expectations for this movie (my #1 to look forward to, even above the above two) and I was not disappointed. As in most movies based on books, it was streamlined a little I felt. There was not as much walking as I remember. There was at least one scene that was changed, but it didn't take away from the experience for me. The girl who played Lucy was fantastic and the Witch was perfect. Edmund admirably goes through his character's process of redemption. I think the young actor will be up to the task of the next few books. Peter and Susan were also good.

I agree with one reviewer who didn't like the cute "old married couple" interaction of Mr. and Mrs. Beaver. Although I wasn't annoyed and found a lot of it funny, the original characters don't need it and the point is that the animals are not cute and funny, they're real people--the movie missed that a little. I also thought the special effects were great, thought the battle swordplay wasn't up to Lord of the Rings standards. But what do you expect when your warrior is a boy? Peter is no Aragorn, that's all, and I don't think there was any way to really make him so.

I think my favorite character in the movie was Mr. Tumnus. I thought the actor (along with costumes and special effects) did such a wonderful job with him.

As for the Christian allegory. I think the movie portrays it like the books did. If you notice it and you are a Christian, it may add an additional layer of meaning for you. If you don't notice it and/or are not a Christian I don't think it should take away from the story. Sacrifice and redemption are not themes limited to Christianity, after all. As far as I can tell neither the book or the movie beats you over the head with it.

Highly recommended!!!

Coming Soon: Revised opinion of the new Harry Potter, King Kong (I recently watched the original movie and enjoyed that) and hopefully, Memoirs of a Geisha (which I haven't read) and The Producers (I haven't seen or listened to the music).

1 comment:

Unequivocal_Prowess said...

Loved Harry Potter, thought Rent was pretty good, and can't wait to see Memoirs or King Kong. Not sure how I feel about Chronicles because I have never read the book...